Research Databases

Details

Eighteenth Century Journals Portal (Adam Matthew Digital)

URL http://www.18thcjournals.amdigital.co.uk
Description Eighteenth Century Journals I is drawn from the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford. It brings together 76 rare journals printed between 1714 and 1799. The collection combines well-known publications with more minor works, offering users a wide-ranging view of eighteenth century publishing culture. Authors represented include Joseph Addison, Henry Fielding, Horace Walpole, Richard Steele, Samuel Taylor Coleridge and Thomas Chatterton. Topics covered include law and policing; British colonial possessions; the South Sea Bubble, religion, female dress and the American and French revolutions; politics, marriage, and morality. A particular strength is eighteenth century drama, with over 19 titles relating to the theatre.

Eighteenth Century Journals II provides a wide-ranging view of topical issues that concerned readers of the period. In the eighteenth century, as today, the content of newspapers was dictated by the editor’s sense of what was desired by the general readership. The Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center holds one of the finest collections of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals in the world, and it was from here that items for Eighteenth Century Journals II were selected. These holdings were documented in ‘British Newspapers and Periodicals, 1632-1800’, compiled by Powell Stewart in 1950.

Materials for Eighteenth Century Journals III are drawn from two sources: the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and Cambridge University Library. This section focuses on journals published outside of London. The inclusion of Canadian, Caribbean and Indian journals allows users to explore the ways in which major world events were reported in different areas of the globe. There are also a large number of Irish journals and British provincial publications.

Eighteenth Century Journals IV is sourced from Chetham's Library, Manchester and the Brotherton Library at the University of Leeds. Provides a strong collection of rare magazines and newspapers, literary periodicals and political journals have been included to chart the transformation of Manchester during a time of rapid industrialisation and political turmoil.

Eighteenth Century Journals V :includes the full run of The Lady’s Magazine, 1770-1832. As no library holds a complete set, we have pieced together the entire run from the British Library, Birmingham Central Library and Cambridge University Library. Remarkable for its longevity, The Lady’s Magazine is a major source for scholars of gender, social and literary studies and an invaluable source for any scholar of the eighteenth century. To compliment the Lady’s Magazine, we have also included other relevant titles that are social, cultural and literary in scope from Cambridge University Library and Liverpool John Moores University Library.
Subjects History, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science
Publisher Adam Matthew Digital
Subscription Subscription
Alumni Access Yes
   

Permitted Uses


Personal Privacy: University of Victoria Libraries makes licensed resources available for your convenience. Your use of these resources is voluntary. Some licensed resources allow you to create a personal account for the purposes of creating folders, saving searches, and downloading entire e-books as well as other personalized services. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to these and other external websites may be stored on servers located outside of Canada. When you use these services, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to these external websites. University of Victoria Libraries recommends that you review the privacy policies of these and other external websites before using the services.

© University of Victoria Libraries 2019