Research Databases

Details

Slavery and Anti Slavery: a Transnational Archive: Pts 1-4 (Gale)

URL http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/uvictoria?db=SAS
Description Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is a historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual and global way. Once completed, this digital collection will comprise five million pages of documents selected by a renowned board of scholars and organized in four parts:

Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition
Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
Part III: Institution of Slavery
Part IV: Age of Emancipation
Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition available now contains 1.5 million pages, including more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections. For academic researchers, historians, undergraduate and graduate students, faculty and others studying slavery, these varied sources shed light on the:

Abolitionist movement and conflicts within it
Anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period
Debates on the subject of colonization
And more
Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition strongly supports research with a U.S. focus, but also includes resources from Africa, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean allowing for comparative research. Developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, this new digital archive explores all facets of the controversy with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious and government issues.
Subjects History, Law
Publisher Gale Digital Collections
Consortium Points to the Past
Subscription Subscription
Alumni Access Yes
Open Access No
   

Permitted Uses


Personal Privacy: University of Victoria Libraries makes licensed resources available for your convenience. Your use of these resources is voluntary. Some licensed resources allow you to create a personal account for the purposes of creating folders, saving searches, and downloading entire e-books as well as other personalized services. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to these and other external websites may be stored on servers located outside of Canada. When you use these services, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to these external websites. University of Victoria Libraries recommends that you review the privacy policies of these and other external websites before using the services.

© University of Victoria Libraries 2019