Research Databases

Details

Smithsonian Collections Online (Gale)

URL http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/uvictoria?db=SMIT
Description Gale and the Smithsonian Institution have partnered to give libraries a unique opportunity to provide students, faculty, and researchers the chance to look behind the glass of the Smithsonian exhibits and collections.
Collections currently available:
World's Fairs and Expositions
Trade Liteature and the Merchandising of Industry
Smithsonian Magazine 1970-2010
Air & Space Magazine 1986-2010
Gale is digitizing primary source materials from deep within the museums, libraries, and archives of the world’s largest museum and research complex, making it available digitally, in searchable formats, and integrating it with software that aligns with scholarly workflow. The Smithsonian’s content is vast and unmatched. The digitized documents within Smithsonian Collections Online are rich in their ability to be the source of new and exciting scholarship. The multi-year partnership between Gale and Smithsonian will result in a program of archives that span multidisciplinary topics for both research and education.
Subjects History
Publisher Gale Digital Collections
Consortium Points to the Past
Subscription Subscription
Alumni Access Yes
Open Access No
   

Permitted Uses


Personal Privacy: University of Victoria Libraries makes licensed resources available for your convenience. Your use of these resources is voluntary. Some licensed resources allow you to create a personal account for the purposes of creating folders, saving searches, and downloading entire e-books as well as other personalized services. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to these and other external websites may be stored on servers located outside of Canada. When you use these services, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to these external websites. University of Victoria Libraries recommends that you review the privacy policies of these and other external websites before using the services.

© University of Victoria Libraries 2019