Research Databases

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale)

URL https://link.gale.com/apps/BBCN?u=uvictoria
Description Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this unique collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library. The original Burney volumes are now in a fragile condition and have been restricted from ordinary reading room use. Until now, the only access to this unprecedented collection has been through microfilm. This digital collection, made possible by a partnership between Gale and the British Library, puts these early newspapers into the hands of scholars and researchers and is an invaluable research tool for all disciplines.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers totals nearly one million pages and includes:
British Journal
Daily Courant
Daily Gazetteer
Daily Post
Evening Post
General Advertiser
Lloyd's Evening Post and British Chronicle
London Chronicle
London Evening Post
London Gazette
Morning Chronicle and London Advertiser
St. James' Chronicle or, British Evening Post
Whitehall Evening Post, or London Intelligencer
And hundreds of others
Subjects History, Newspapers, Primary Source
Publisher Gale Digital Collections
Consortium Points to the Past
Subscription Subscription
Alumni Access No
Open Access No
   

Permitted Uses


Personal Privacy: University of Victoria Libraries makes licensed resources available for your convenience. Your use of these resources is voluntary. Some licensed resources allow you to create a personal account for the purposes of creating folders, saving searches, and downloading entire e-books as well as other personalized services. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to these and other external websites may be stored on servers located outside of Canada. When you use these services, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to these external websites. University of Victoria Libraries recommends that you review the privacy policies of these and other external websites before using the services.

© University of Victoria Libraries 2021