Research Databases

Dictionary of Old English

URL http://tapor.library.utoronto.ca/doe/
Description The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first centuries (600-1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100-1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary, the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English. Under the direction of editors Angus Cameron, Ashley Crandell Amos, and now Antonette diPaolo Healey, the Dictionary has published (as of 2008) four major research tools, the Dictionary of Old English Corpus on the World Wide Web, the fascicles for the letters A-G on microfiche, the Dictionary of Old English: A to G online. More than one third of the Dictionary -- eight of the 22 letters of the Old English alphabet--has been published, and more than half of the total entries have been written to date.
Subjects Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Literature
Subscription Subscription
Alumni Access No
   

Permitted Uses


Personal Privacy: University of Victoria Libraries makes licensed resources available for your convenience. Your use of these resources is voluntary. Some licensed resources allow you to create a personal account for the purposes of creating folders, saving searches, and downloading entire e-books as well as other personalized services. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to these and other external websites may be stored on servers located outside of Canada. When you use these services, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to these external websites. University of Victoria Libraries recommends that you review the privacy policies of these and other external websites before using the services.

© University of Victoria Libraries 2021