Research Databases

Bibliography of British & Irish History (BREPOLiS)

URL http://apps.brepolis.net/BrepolisPortal/default.aspx
Description Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH). The BBIH has grown out of, and will supersede, the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History. The new service, which will be launched on January 1, 2010, will be a partnership between the Royal Historical Society, the Institute of Historical Research, and Brepols Publishers. The BBIH will change from free access to a subscription service.
The old Royal Historical Society Bibliography will be discontinued and will go offline at the end of December 2009. The new BBIH will retain the key facilities available on the current RHS Bibliography search forms, including the subject classification scheme and searching by period covered. It will also offer a number of new features, such as an auto-complete function, an auto record count per search field, a multilingual interface and extended export possibilities. Users will be able to choose between a simple or an advanced search, both offering significantly faster returns of results. The new Bibliography will be compatible with OpenURL, facilitating linkage to full text. Links to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, the National Register of Archives, Who Was Who, BL Articles Direct, Google Books, COPAC, H-Albion Reviews, British History Online and Reviews in History will also still be available.
Subjects History
Subscription Subscription
Alumni Access No
   

Permitted Uses


Personal Privacy: University of Victoria Libraries makes licensed resources available for your convenience. Your use of these resources is voluntary. Some licensed resources allow you to create a personal account for the purposes of creating folders, saving searches, and downloading entire e-books as well as other personalized services. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to these and other external websites may be stored on servers located outside of Canada. When you use these services, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to these external websites. University of Victoria Libraries recommends that you review the privacy policies of these and other external websites before using the services.

© University of Victoria Libraries 2021