Research Databases

Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples (MHSO)

URL http://www.mhso.ca/encyclopedia
Description The Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work and research tool on different peoples/ethnic groups. The volume contains individual entries on, among others, the indigenous peoples, French, English, Blacks, Chinese, Jews, Ukrainians, and Vietnamese who live, or have lived, in Canada. Each entry covers the origins of the people/group, the process of migration, arrival and settlement, economic and community life, family and kinship patterns, language and culture, education, religion, politics, intergroup relations, and the dynamics of group maintenance. Entries are cross-referenced and include tables, graphs, and suggestions for further reading. A number of thematic essays are also included in the Encyclopedia to illuminate complex issues related to immigration, assimilation, multiculturalism, and Canadian culture and identity.
Subjects Biography, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, History, Indigenous Studies
Publisher Multicultural History Society of Ontario
Subscription Subscription
Alumni Access No
   

Permitted Uses


Personal Privacy: University of Victoria Libraries makes licensed resources available for your convenience. Your use of these resources is voluntary. Some licensed resources allow you to create a personal account for the purposes of creating folders, saving searches, and downloading entire e-books as well as other personalized services. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to these and other external websites may be stored on servers located outside of Canada. When you use these services, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to these external websites. University of Victoria Libraries recommends that you review the privacy policies of these and other external websites before using the services.

© University of Victoria Libraries 2021