Dictionaries and Encyclopedias - Recommended Databases

Best Bets for this Subject

ABC CLIO EBooks  [Details]
Canadian Encyclopedia  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences  [Details]
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences  [Details]
Oxford Dictionaries  [Details]
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)  [Details]
Oxford Reference   [Details]

Other Resources

CJKV-English Dictionary (Chinese-Japanese-Korean-Vietnamese/English)  [Details]
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online  [Details]
Dictionary of Old English  [Details]
Dictionary of the Irish Language  [Details]
Dictionnaire Usito  [Details]
Encyclopaedia of Islam  [Details]
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an  [Details]
Encyclopedia of British Columbia (EBC) Online  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples (MHSO)  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Consciousness  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Engineering Geology  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Life  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Microbiology  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Ocean Engineering   [Details]
Encyclopedia of Popular Music (EPM)  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Public Administration & Public Policy  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Solid Earth Geophysics   [Details]
Encyclopedia of Stress  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Water Science  [Details]
EOLSS Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems  [Details]
Feminist Encyclopedia of Italian Literature  [Details]
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)  [Details]
Gale Virtual Reference Library - eReference  [Details]
Grand Robert Online  [Details]
Handbook of Psychology (Wiley)  [Details]
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography  [Details]
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Wiley)  [Details]
Learning and Memory  [Details]
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law  [Details]
Middle English Dictionary (UMichigan)  [Details]
Oxford Art Online  [Details]
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  [Details]
Oxford Music Online  [Details]
Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online (2nd ed)  [Details]
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism (T&F)  [Details]
SAGE Research Methods  [Details]
Smithsonian Global Sound (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Open Access [Details]
Treatise on Geochemistry  [Details]
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry  [Details]
Very Short Introductions (Oxford)  [Details]
Yearbook of International Organizations  [Details]