Research Databases

Search results – Recommended Databases for Newspapers

Best Bets for this Subject

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale)       
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Parts I and II (Gale)       
19th Century UK Periodicals Part I and II (Gale)       
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)       
Access World News (NewsBank)       
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)       
BC Legislative Library Newspaper Index       
British Colonist 1858-1980       
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)(Proquest)       
Canadian Major Dailies (Proquest)       
Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest)        
Canadiana Online       
CBCA Complete (CSA) (ProQuest)       
China Daily       
CPI.Q Canadian Periodical Index FullText (Gale)       
Daily Mail Historical Archive (Gale)       
Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)       
Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nation: An Essential Record of 18th- and Early 19th- Century America (Readex - NewsBank)       
Financial Times Historical Archive (Gale)       
Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (1844-4 years ago)       
Illustrated London News (Gale)       
Independent Digital Archive (Gale)        
Internet Public Library Newspapers       
Japan Times Digital Archive 1897-2016 (East View)       
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (East View Information Services)       
Lexis Nexis Academic (now Nexis Uni)       
Montreal Gazette 2011-2016 (Proquest Digital Newspapers)       
National Post Toronto On 2011 - 2016 (Proquest Digital Newspapers)       
New York Times (1851-4 years ago) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)       
New York Times Late edition East coast 2008 to 2016 (Proquest Digital Newspapers)       
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (1851-4 years ago)        
NEWSCAN.COM (Virtual News Library)       
NewsVault       
Nexis Uni Plus (LexisNexis Canada)       
People's Daily Online       
Picture Post Historical Archive (Gale)       
Points to the Past       
Pravda Digital Archive (East View Information Services)      
Shen Bao       
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2016 (Gale)       
Times Colonist 2011-3 months ago (Proquest Digital Newspapers)       
Times Colonist Victoria BC 1884 – 2010 (Proquest Historical Newspapers)       
Times Digital Archive 1785 -2008 (Gale)       
Vancouver Sun 2011 -2016 (Proquest Digital Newspapers)       
Wall Street Journal (1889-8 years ago)(ProQuest Historical Newspapers)       
Wall Street Journal – Eastern edition 2008 – 2016 (ProQuest Digital Newspapers)       
Wall Street Journal: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (1889-8 years ago)        
Washington Post (1877-7 years ago)(Proquest Historical Newspapers)       
Washington Post: Proquest Historical Newspapers: (1877-1999)       

Other Resources

British Library Newspapers Parts I-IV (Gale)       
Embassy       
Eureka.cc (CEDROM-SNi)       
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974-1996 (Readex - NewsBank)       
Foreign Language News and Newspapers       
Global NewsBank       
Globe and Mail (1844-4 years ago)(Proquest Historical Newspapers)       
Google News Archives       
Hill Times       
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (East View Information Services)       
Independent Voices (Reveal Digital)       
L'île - L'infocentre littéraire des écrivains québécois       
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (East View Information Services)       
Parliament Now       
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō 台灣日日新報 (1898-1944) (East View Information Services )      
TLS Centenary Archive (see TLS Historical Archive)       
Very Short Introductions (Oxford)       
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900