Primary Source - Recommended Databases

Best Bets for this Subject

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale)  [Details]
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Parts I and II (Gale)  [Details]
19th Century UK Periodicals Part I and II (Gale)  [Details]
African American Song (see American Song)(Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection 1684-1912 (EBSCO)  [Details]
American Broadsides and Ephemera (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
American Song (Alexander Street Press)   [Details]
American State Papers 1789-1838 (NewsBank)  [Details]
American West (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Apartheid South Africa 1948-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature (BREPOLiS) Cancelled [Details]
Archives Unbound (Gale)  [Details]
Associated Press Collections Online (Gale)  [Details]
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials(EBSCO)  [Details]
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950 (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
British Colonist 1858-1980  [Details]
British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900 (Gale)  [Details]
British Periodicals (ProQuest)  [Details]
Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online  [Details]
Canada Gazette Open Access [Details]
Canadian National Digital Heritage Index Open Access [Details]
Canadiana Online  [Details]
Champlain Society Archives  [Details]
Chatham House Online Archive (Gale)  [Details]
China Daily  [Details]
China Yearbook Full-Text Database (CYFD)(1912-2015)  [Details]
China: Culture and Society (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 (Adam Matthews)  [Details]
Confidential Print: Africa 1843-1966 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Confidential Print: Middle East 1839-1969 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Confidential Print: North America 1824-1961 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Daily Mail Historical Archive (Gale)  [Details]
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Documents on Australian Foreign Policy 1937-1959  [Details]
Early American Imprints - Evans 1639-1800 (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nation: An Essential Record of 18th- and Early 19th- Century America (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
Early Encounters in North America: People, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (Proquest)  [Details]
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 (Gale)  [Details]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online ECCO (Gale)  [Details]
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Electronic Enlightenment  [Details]
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
English Historical Documents  [Details]
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (EBSCO)  [Details]
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2021(Gale)  [Details]
First World War: Personal Experiences (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974-1996 (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
Foreign Office Files for China Sections I, II, III (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Frontier Life (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Globe and Mail (1844-4 years ago)(Proquest Historical Newspapers)  [Details]
Heidelberg Historic Literature Digitized  [Details]
Héritage Open Access [Details]
Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada  [Details]
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers UK (18th-21st Century)(Proquest)  [Details]
Illustrated London News (Gale)  [Details]
Images from the History of Medicine  [Details]
Incunabula Short Title Catalogue (ISTC)  [Details]
Independent Digital Archive (Gale)   [Details]
Independent Voices (Reveal Digital)  [Details]
India, Raj and Empire (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Indigenous Peoples:North America (Gale)  [Details]
Japan Times Digital Archive 1897-2016 (East View)  [Details]
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (East View Information Services) Open Access [Details]
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO)  [Details]
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive 1924-1950 (Gale)  [Details]
Libris Canadiana  [Details]
Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991 (Gale)  [Details]
Literary Manuscripts, 17th & 18th Century Poetry from the Brotherton Library, Leeds (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Loeb Classical Library   [Details]
London Low Life (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Making of Modern Law (Gale)  [Details]
Making of the Modern World (Gale)  [Details]
Mass Observation Online Part I, II, III, and IV 1937-1967 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Medieval Travel Writing (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Meiji Japan: The Edward Sylvester Morse Collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Middle East Series Online 1: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970(Gale)  [Details]
Middle East Series Online 2: Iraq 1914-1974 (Gale)  [Details]
New York Times (1851-4 years ago) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)  [Details]
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (1851-4 years ago)   [Details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - NCCO (Gale)  [Details]
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Histories (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Orlando Women's Writing in the British Isles  [Details]
Past Masters (Intelex)  [Details]
People's Daily Online (Renmin Ribao)  [Details]
Perdita Manuscripts (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Picture Post Historical Archive (Gale)  [Details]
Punch Historical Archive; 1841-1992 (Gale)  [Details]
Romanticism: Life, Literature & Landscape (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Sabin Americana (Gale)  [Details]
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Shen Bao  [Details]
Slavery and Anti Slavery: a Transnational Archive: Pts 1-4 (Gale)  [Details]
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Smithsonian and Air & Space Magazine Archive, 1970-2010 (Gale)  [Details]
Smithsonian Collections Online (Gale)  [Details]
State Papers Online (Gale)   [Details]
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa (JSTOR)  [Details]
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2021 (Gale)  [Details]
Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 (Gale)  [Details]
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
U.S. Declassified Documents Online (Gale)  [Details]
Victorian Popular Culture (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Vogue Archive (ProQuest)  [Details]
Wall Street Journal (1889-8 years ago)(ProQuest Historical Newspapers)  [Details]
Wall Street Journal: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (1889-8 years ago)   [Details]
Washington Post (1877-7 years ago)(Proquest Historical Newspapers)  [Details]
Washington Post: Proquest Historical Newspapers: (1877-1999)  [Details]
Women and Social Movements US 1600-2000 (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Women Writers Online (1400-1850)  [Details]
Women's Magazine Archive I (ProQuest)  [Details]

Other Resources

Chinese Cultural Revolution database / 中国文化大革命文库   [Details]
Database of Chinese great leap forward & great famine, 1958-1962 = 中國大躍進-大饑荒數據庫, 1958-1962   [Details]
Literature Online (LION) (Proquest)  [Details]