Newspapers - Recommended Databases

Best Bets for this Subject

TitleConnect LinkDetails Link
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale) 
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Parts I and II (Gale) 
19th Century UK Periodicals Part I and II (Gale) 
Access World News (NewsBank) 
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) 
BC Legislative Library Newspaper Index 
British Colonist 1858-1980 
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) (Proquest) 
Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest)  
Canadiana Online 
CBCA Complete (ProQuest) 
China Daily 
CPI.Q Canadian Periodical Index FullText (Gale) 
Daily Mail Historical Archive (Gale) 
Digital Microfilm (ProQuest) 
Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nation: An Essential Record of 18th- and Early 19th- Century America (Readex - NewsBank) 
Financial Times Historical Archive (Gale) 
Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (1844-4 years ago) 
Illustrated London News (Gale) 
Independent Digital Archive (Gale)  
Internet Public Library Newspapers 
Japan Times Digital Archive 1897-2016 (East View) 
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (East View Information Services) Open Access
New York Times (1851-4 years ago) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) 
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (1851-4 years ago)  
NEWSCAN.COM (Virtual News Library) 
NewsVault 
Nexis Uni Plus (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) 
People's Daily Online (Renmin Ribao) 
Picture Post Historical Archive (Gale) 
Points to the Past 
Pravda Digital Archive (East View Information Services) 
Province (1894-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)New 
Shen BaoNew 
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2016 (Gale)New 
The Province (Vancouver)(1898-2010) (Proquest Historical Newspapers)New 
Times Colonist (1884 – 2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)New 
Times Colonist 2011-3 months ago (Proquest Digital Newspapers)New 
Times Colonist Victoria BC 1884 – 2010 (Proquest Historical Newspapers)New 
Times Digital Archive 1785 -2008 (Gale)New 
Vancouver Sun (1912-2010) (Proquest Historical Newspapers)New 
Vancouver Sun (1912-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)New 
Vancouver Sun 2011 -2016 (Proquest Digital Newspapers)New 
Wall Street Journal (1889-8 years ago)(ProQuest Historical Newspapers)New 
Wall Street Journal: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (1889-8 years ago) New 
Washington Post (1877-7 years ago)(Proquest Historical Newspapers)New 
Washington Post: Proquest Historical Newspapers: (1877-1999)New 

Other Resources

TitleConnect LinkDetails Link
British Library Newspapers Parts I-IV (Gale) 
Embassy 
Eureka.cc (CEDROM-SNi) 
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974-1996 (Readex - NewsBank) 
Foreign Language News and Newspapers 
Global NewsBank 
Globe and Mail (1844-4 years ago)(Proquest Historical Newspapers) 
Google News Archives 
Hill Times 
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (East View Information Services) Open Access
Independent Voices (Reveal Digital) 
L'île - L'infocentre littéraire des écrivains québécois 
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (East View Information Services) Open Access
Parliament Now 
San Francisco Chronicle Collection with Historical Archives (NewsBank)New 
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō 台灣日日新報 (1898-1944) (East View Information Services )New 
TLS Centenary Archive (see TLS Historical Archive)New 
Very Short Introductions (Oxford)New 
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900New