Literature - Recommended Databases

Best Bets for this Subject

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (PQ)  [Details]
Cambridge University Press eBooks (via Cambridge Core)  [Details]
Contemporary Literary Criticism (GALE)  [Details]
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)  [Details]
Literature Online (LION) (Proquest)  [Details]
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)  [Details]

Other Resources

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Clarivate)  [Details]
Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO H.W. Wilson)  [Details]
Book Review Digest Retrospective 1903-1982 (EBSCO)  [Details]
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950 (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900 (Gale)  [Details]
British Periodicals (ProQuest)  [Details]
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest)  [Details]
Cairn (Cairn.Info)  [Details]
Cambridge Companions (Cambridge University Press)  [Details]
Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online  [Details]
Cambridge Histories Online (via Cambridge Core)  [Details]
Canadian Book Review Annual (CBRA)  [Details]
CanLit Guides  Open Access [Details]
Choice Reviews Online  [Details]
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry  [Details]
Contemporary Authors (GALE)  [Details]
De Gruyter Online  [Details]
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Dictionary of Irish Biography  [Details]
Dictionary of Old English  [Details]
Dictionary of the Irish Language  [Details]
e-Duke Journals Scholarly Collection  [Details]
Early American Imprints - Evans 1639-1800 (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (Proquest)  [Details]
Early European Books I and II (ProQuest)  [Details]
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare  [Details]
eDuke eBooks Scholarly Collection  [Details]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online ECCO (Gale)  [Details]
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Electronic Enlightenment  [Details]
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
English Short Title Catalogue ESTC  [Details]
Frantext  [Details]
Gale Literary Databases (Gale)  [Details]
Gale's Literary Index  [Details]
Gutenberg-e  [Details]
Histoire des idées et critique littéraire (Librairie Droz)  [Details]
Humanities, Arts & Medicine Database  [Details]
Incunabula Short Title Catalogue (ISTC)  [Details]
Internet Shakespeare Editions  [Details]
Iter: eBooks  [Details]
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism  [Details]
JSTOR  [Details]
Literary Manuscripts, 17th & 18th Century Poetry from the Brotherton Library, Leeds (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Literature Resource Center LRC (Gale)  [Details]
London Low Life (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Middle English Dictionary (UMichigan)  [Details]
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)  [Details]
New York Review of Books Online  [Details]
NINES Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online  [Details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - NCCO (Gale)  [Details]
Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC)  [Details]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Orlando Women's Writing in the British Isles  [Details]
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)  [Details]
Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford)  [Details]
Oxford Reference   [Details]
Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment  [Details]
Past Masters (Intelex)  [Details]
Perdita Manuscripts (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Periodicals Archive Online 1 - 10 (ProQuest)  [Details]
Periodicals Index Online (PQ)  [Details]
Play Index (EBSCO H.W. Wilson)  [Details]
Princeton University Press Ebook Collection (De Gruyter)  [Details]
Project Muse  [Details]
Punch Historical Archive; 1841-1992 (Gale)  [Details]
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (EBSCO H.W. Wilson)  [Details]
Readers’ Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 (EBSCO H.W. Wilson)  [Details]
Richard Brome Online  [Details]
Romanticism: Life, Literature & Landscape (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism (T&F)  [Details]
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Shakespeare Survey  [Details]
Stanford University Press Ebooks (De Gruyter)  [Details]
T.S. Eliot - The Complete Prose of T.S. Eliot: The Critical Edition  [Details]
Taylor & Francis eBooks   [Details]
Taylor & Francis Journals Online  [Details]
Textes Littéraires Français (Librairie Droz)  [Details]
Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Historical Archive (Gale)  [Details]
TLS Centenary Archive (see TLS Historical Archive)  [Details]
Very Short Introductions (Oxford)  [Details]
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900  [Details]
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals  [Details]
Women Writers Online (1400-1850)  [Details]
World Shakespeare Bibliography  [Details]
WorldCat (OCLC)  [Details]
WorldCat.org  [Details]