Literature - Recommended Databases

Best Bets for this Subject

TitleConnect LinkDetails Link
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (PQ) 
Cambridge University Press eBooks (via Cambridge Core) 
Contemporary Literary Criticism (GALE) 
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)New 
Literature Online (LION) (Proquest)New 
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)New 

Other Resources

TitleConnect LinkDetails Link
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Clarivate) 
Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO H.W. Wilson) 
Book Review Digest Retrospective 1903-1982 (EBSCO H.W. Wilson) 
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950 (Alexander Street Press) 
British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900 (Gale) 
British Periodicals (ProQuest) 
Cairn (Cairn.Info) 
Cambridge Companions (Cambridge University Press) 
Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online 
Cambridge Histories Online (via Cambridge Core) 
Canadian Book Review Annual (CBRA) 
CanLit Guides  Open Access
Choice Reviews Online 
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry 
Contemporary Authors (GALE) 
De Gruyter Online 
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital) 
Dictionary of Irish Biography 
Dictionary of Old English 
Dictionary of the Irish Language 
e-Duke Journals Scholarly Collection 
Early American Imprints - Evans 1639-1800 (Readex - NewsBank) 
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 (Readex - NewsBank) 
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (Proquest) 
Early European Books I and II (ProQuest) 
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare 
eDuke eBooks Scholarly Collection 
Eighteenth Century Collections Online ECCO (Gale) 
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal (Adam Matthew Digital) 
Electronic Enlightenment 
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) 
English Short Title Catalogue ESTC 
Frantext 
Gale Literary Databases (Gale) 
Gale's Literary Index 
Gutenberg-e 
Histoire des idées et critique littéraire (Librairie Droz)New 
Humanities, Arts & Medicine DatabaseNew 
Incunabula Short Title Catalogue (ISTC)New 
Internet Shakespeare EditionsNew 
Iter: eBooksNew 
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismNew 
JSTORNew 
Literary Manuscripts, 17th & 18th Century Poetry from the Brotherton Library, Leeds (Adam Matthew Digital)New 
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive (Adam Matthew Digital)New 
Literature Resource Center LRC (Gale)New 
London Low Life (Adam Matthew Digital)New 
Middle English Dictionary (UMichigan)New 
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)New 
New York Review of Books OnlineNew 
NINES Nineteenth-century Scholarship OnlineNew 
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - NCCO (Gale)New 
Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC)New 
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press)New 
Orlando Women's Writing in the British IslesNew 
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)New 
Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford)New 
Oxford Reference New 
Oxford University Studies in the EnlightenmentNew 
Past Masters (Intelex)New 
Perdita Manuscripts (Adam Matthew Digital)New 
Periodicals Archive Online 1 - 10 (ProQuest)New 
Periodicals Index Online (PQ)New 
Play Index (EBSCO H.W. Wilson)New 
Princeton University Press Ebook Collection (De Gruyter)New 
Project MuseNew 
Punch Historical Archive; 1841-1992 (Gale)New 
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (EBSCO H.W. Wilson)New 
Readers’ Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 (EBSCO H.W. Wilson)New 
Richard Brome OnlineNew 
Romanticism: Life, Literature & Landscape (Adam Matthew Digital)New 
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism (T&F)New 
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press)New 
Shakespeare SurveyNew 
Stanford University Press Ebooks (De Gruyter)New 
T.S. Eliot - The Complete Prose of T.S. Eliot: The Critical EditionNew 
Taylor & Francis eBooks New 
Textes Littéraires Français (Librairie Droz)New 
Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Historical Archive (Gale)New 
TLS Centenary Archive (see TLS Historical Archive)New 
Very Short Introductions (Oxford)New 
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900New 
Wellesley Index to Victorian PeriodicalsNew 
Women Writers Online (1400-1850)New 
World Shakespeare BibliographyNew 
WorldCat (OCLC)New 
WorldCat.orgNew