Literature - Recommended Databases

Best Bets for this Subject

TitleConnect LinkDetails Link
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (PQ) 
Cambridge University Press eBooks (via Cambridge Core) 
Contemporary Literary Criticism (GALE) 
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) 
Literature Online (LION) (Proquest) 
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) 

Other Resources

TitleConnect LinkDetails Link
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Clarivate) 
Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO H.W. Wilson) 
Book Review Digest Retrospective 1903-1982 (EBSCO) 
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950 (Alexander Street Press) 
British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900 (Gale) 
British Periodicals (ProQuest) 
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest) 
Cairn (Cairn.Info) 
Cambridge Companions (Cambridge University Press) 
Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online 
Cambridge Histories Online (via Cambridge Core) 
Canadian Book Review Annual (CBRA) 
CanLit Guides  Open Access
Choice Reviews Online 
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry 
Contemporary Authors (GALE) 
De Gruyter Online 
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital) 
Dictionary of Irish Biography 
Dictionary of Old English 
Dictionary of the Irish Language 
e-Duke Journals Scholarly Collection 
Early American Imprints - Evans 1639-1800 (Readex - NewsBank) 
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 (Readex - NewsBank) 
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (Proquest) 
Early European Books I and II (ProQuest) 
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare 
eDuke eBooks Scholarly Collection 
Eighteenth Century Collections Online ECCO (Gale) 
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal (Adam Matthew Digital) 
Electronic Enlightenment 
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) 
English Short Title Catalogue ESTC 
Frantext 
Gale Literary Databases (Gale) 
Gale's Literary Index 
Gutenberg-e 
Histoire des idées et critique littéraire (Librairie Droz) 
Humanities, Arts & Medicine Database 
Incunabula Short Title Catalogue (ISTC) 
Internet Shakespeare Editions 
Iter: eBooks 
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism 
JSTOR 
Literary Manuscripts, 17th & 18th Century Poetry from the Brotherton Library, Leeds (Adam Matthew Digital) 
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive (Adam Matthew Digital) 
Literature Resource Center LRC (Gale) 
London Low Life (Adam Matthew Digital) 
Middle English Dictionary (UMichigan) 
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO) 
New York Review of Books Online 
NINES Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online 
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - NCCO (Gale) 
Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC) 
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press) 
Orlando Women's Writing in the British Isles 
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) 
Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford) 
Oxford Reference  
Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment 
Past Masters (Intelex) 
Perdita Manuscripts (Adam Matthew Digital) 
Periodicals Archive Online 1 - 10 (ProQuest) 
Periodicals Index Online (PQ) 
Play Index (EBSCO H.W. Wilson) 
Princeton University Press Ebook Collection (De Gruyter) 
Project Muse 
Punch Historical Archive; 1841-1992 (Gale) 
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (EBSCO H.W. Wilson) 
Readers’ Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 (EBSCO H.W. Wilson) 
Richard Brome Online 
Romanticism: Life, Literature & Landscape (Adam Matthew Digital) 
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism (T&F) 
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press) 
Shakespeare Survey 
Stanford University Press Ebooks (De Gruyter) 
T.S. Eliot - The Complete Prose of T.S. Eliot: The Critical Edition 
Taylor & Francis eBooks  
Taylor & Francis Journals Online 
Textes Littéraires Français (Librairie Droz) 
Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Historical Archive (Gale) 
TLS Centenary Archive (see TLS Historical Archive) 
Very Short Introductions (Oxford) 
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 
Women Writers Online (1400-1850) 
World Shakespeare Bibliography 
WorldCat (OCLC) 
WorldCat.org