Research Databases

British Library Newspapers Parts I-IV (Gale)

URL https://link.gale.com/apps/BNCN?u=uvictoria
Description Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 19th Century British Library Newspapers provides researchers with the most comprehensive collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain available. This full-text, fully searchable digital archive includes 50 papers originating in England, Scotland and Ireland, carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century. The collection is made up of daily and weekly publications and reflects Britain's growing role as a superpower in the 19th century world.
Multidisciplinary in scope, 19th Century British Library Newspapers includes:
Birmingham Daily Post
The Chartist
Freeman's Journal
Glasgow Herald
Goleuad
Illustrated Police News
Liverpool Mercury
Pall Mall Gazette
And many others
Subjects History, Newspapers
Publisher Gale Digital Collections
Consortium Points to the Past
Subscription Subscription
Alumni Access No
Open Access No
   

Permitted Uses


Personal Privacy: University of Victoria Libraries makes licensed resources available for your convenience. Your use of these resources is voluntary. Some licensed resources allow you to create a personal account for the purposes of creating folders, saving searches, and downloading entire e-books as well as other personalized services. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to these and other external websites may be stored on servers located outside of Canada. When you use these services, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to these external websites. University of Victoria Libraries recommends that you review the privacy policies of these and other external websites before using the services.

© University of Victoria Libraries 2021