History - Recommended Databases

Best Bets for this Subject

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO)  [Details]
BHI: British Humanities Index (ProQuest)  [Details]
Cambridge University Press eBooks (via Cambridge Core)  [Details]
Héritage Open Access [Details]
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)  [Details]
Humanities Index (Proquest)  [Details]
JSTOR  [Details]
Project Muse  [Details]
Province (1894-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)  [Details]
Times Colonist (1884 – 2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)  [Details]
Vancouver Sun (1912-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)  [Details]

Other Resources

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale)  [Details]
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Parts I and II (Gale)  [Details]
19th Century UK Periodicals Part I and II (Gale)  [Details]
ABC CLIO EBooks  [Details]
ACLS Humanities Ebook (HEB)  [Details]
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection 1684-1912 (EBSCO)  [Details]
American Broadsides and Ephemera (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
American State Papers 1789-1838 (NewsBank)  [Details]
American West (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Apartheid South Africa 1948-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
ArchiveGrid  [Details]
Archives of Sexuality and Gender  [Details]
Archives Unbound (Gale)  [Details]
Aristoteles Latinus Database (BREPOLiS)  [Details]
Associated Press Collections Online (Gale)  [Details]
AUSPORT Australian Sport Database (Informit)  [Details]
BCcampus Open Textbooks (BCcampus) Open Access [Details]
Bibliography of Asian Studies  [Details]
Bibliography of British & Irish History (BREPOLiS)  [Details]
Bloomsbury Collections  [Details]
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950 (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
British Columbia Reports and Digest of British Columbia Case Law (1867-1948)  [Details]
British Library Newspapers Parts I-V (Gale)  [Details]
British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900 (Gale)  [Details]
British Periodicals (ProQuest)  [Details]
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest)  [Details]
Cairn (Cairn.Info)  [Details]
Cambridge Histories Online (via Cambridge Core)  [Details]
Canadian Parliamentary Database  Open Access [Details]
Canadiana Online  [Details]
Champlain Society Archives  [Details]
Chatham House Online Archive (Gale)  [Details]
China, America and the Pacific (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 (Adam Matthews)  [Details]
Confidential Print: Africa 1843-1966 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Confidential Print: Middle East 1839-1969 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Confidential Print: North America 1824-1961 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
ConnectedHistories  [Details]
Daily Mail Historical Archive (Gale)  [Details]
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online  [Details]
Digital South Asia Library  [Details]
Discovering American Women's History Online  [Details]
Drama Online (Bloomsbury Publishing)  [Details]
e-Duke Journals Scholarly Collection  [Details]
Early American Imprints - Evans 1639-1800 (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nation: An Essential Record of 18th- and Early 19th- Century America (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
Early Encounters in North America: People, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (Proquest)  [Details]
Early European Books I and II (ProQuest)  [Details]
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 (Gale)  [Details]
eDuke eBooks Scholarly Collection  [Details]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online ECCO (Gale)  [Details]
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Electronic Enlightenment  [Details]
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples (MHSO)  [Details]
English Historical Documents  [Details]
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (EBSCO)  [Details]
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2021(Gale)  [Details]
First World War: Personal Experiences (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Foreign Office Files for China Sections I, II, III (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies (Yale University)  [Details]
Frontier Life (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Gale Virtual Reference Library - eReference  [Details]
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Gutenberg-e  [Details]
Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada  [Details]
History Cooperative Journals Cancelled [Details]
Holocaust Encyclopedia  [Details]
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers UK (18th-21st Century)(Proquest)  [Details]
Illustrated London News (Gale)  [Details]
Images from the History of Medicine  [Details]
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (East View Information Services) Open Access [Details]
Independent Voices (Reveal Digital)  [Details]
Index Islamicus (ProQuest)  [Details]
India, Raj and Empire (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline)  [Details]
Indigenous Peoples:North America (Gale)  [Details]
Informit  [Details]
International Historical Statistics (IHS)  [Details]
Iter: eBooks  [Details]
Journal Citation Reports JCR (Clarivate)  [Details]
JustCite  [Details]
KnowBC  [Details]
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (East View Information Services) Open Access [Details]
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive 1924-1950 (Gale)  [Details]
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
LLMC Digital  [Details]
London Low Life (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Making of the Modern World (Gale)  [Details]
Mass Observation Online Part I, II, III, and IV 1937-1967 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Meiji Japan: The Edward Sylvester Morse Collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Memory BC Archives  [Details]
Middle East Series Online 1: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970(Gale)  [Details]
Middle East Series Online 2: Iraq 1914-1974 (Gale)  [Details]
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (East View Information Services) Open Access [Details]
Migration to New Worlds (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)  [Details]
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation Archives (NTRC)  [Details]
NATO Archives Online  [Details]
New York Times (1851-4 years ago) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)  [Details]
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (1851-4 years ago)   [Details]
NINES Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online  [Details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - NCCO (Gale)  [Details]
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Histories (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Our Roots: Canada's local histories online  [Details]
Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford)  [Details]
Oxford Reference   [Details]
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History (Oxford University Press)  [Details]
Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment  [Details]
Perdita Manuscripts (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Periodicals Archive Online 1 - 10 (ProQuest)  [Details]
Picture Post Historical Archive (Gale)  [Details]
Points to the Past  [Details]
Pravda Digital Archive (East View Information Services)  [Details]
Princeton University Press Ebook Collection (De Gruyter)  [Details]
Punch Historical Archive; 1841-1992 (Gale)  [Details]
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism (T&F)  [Details]
Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples  [Details]
Sabin Americana (Gale)  [Details]
SAGE Research Methods Cases   [Details]
SAGE Knowledge eBooks  [Details]
SAGE Research Methods  [Details]
SAGE Research Methods - Datasets  [Details]
SAGE Research Methods Video   [Details]
San Francisco Chronicle Collection with Historical Archives (NewsBank)  [Details]
SciVal (Elsevier)  [Details]
Scopus (Elsevier)  [Details]
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press)  [Details]
Slavery and Anti Slavery: a Transnational Archive: Pts 1-4 (Gale)  [Details]
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Smithsonian Collections Online (Gale)  [Details]
Stanford University Press Ebooks (De Gruyter)  [Details]
State Papers Online (Gale)   [Details]
Statistics Canada Beyond 20/20 WDS (Digital Liberation Initiative)  [Details]
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa (JSTOR)  [Details]
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2021 (Gale)  [Details]
Talon Conspiracy  [Details]
Taylor & Francis eBooks   [Details]
Taylor & Francis Journals Online  [Details]
Times Colonist Victoria BC 1884 – 2010 (Proquest Historical Newspapers)  [Details]
Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 (Gale)  [Details]
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 (Readex - NewsBank)  [Details]
U.S. Declassified Documents Online (Gale)  [Details]
Vancouver Sun 2011 -2016 (Proquest Digital Newspapers)  [Details]
Very Short Introductions (Oxford)  [Details]
Victorian Popular Culture (Adam Matthew Digital)  [Details]
Vogue Archive (ProQuest)  [Details]
Wall Street Journal (1889-8 years ago)(ProQuest Historical Newspapers)  [Details]
Wall Street Journal: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: (1889-8 years ago)   [Details]
Washington Post (1877-7 years ago)(Proquest Historical Newspapers)  [Details]
Washington Post: Proquest Historical Newspapers: (1877-1999)  [Details]
Women's Magazine Archive I (ProQuest)  [Details]
World Heritage Sites: Africa (JSTOR)  [Details]