Research Databases

Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street Press)

URL http://webapp.library.uvic.ca/databases/details.php?id=967
Description Classical Scores Library will contain 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works.

Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.

The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.

The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher. We hope that this will enable users to search, analyze, and research scores in a simple but powerful manner.

Further releases will include the entire catalog of UME, as well as manuscript material from the Barry S. Brook Center for Music Research, and many new editions from other in-copyright publishers.
Subjects Music
Publisher Alexander Street Press
Subscription Subscription
Alumni Access Yes
   

Permitted Uses


Personal Privacy: University of Victoria Libraries makes licensed resources available for your convenience. Your use of these resources is voluntary. Some licensed resources allow you to create a personal account for the purposes of creating folders, saving searches, and downloading entire e-books as well as other personalized services. Please be advised that the personal information you disclose to these and other external websites may be stored on servers located outside of Canada. When you use these services, no personal information about you is collected by or for the University. Canadian privacy laws do not apply to personal information you provide directly to these external websites. University of Victoria Libraries recommends that you review the privacy policies of these and other external websites before using the services.

© University of Victoria Libraries 2021