Foreign Office Files for China Sections I, II, III (Adam Matthew Digital)

Connect to database

Description Available in three sections covering the periods 1949-1956; 1957-1966; and 1967-1980; this project addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the People’s Republic, in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao, the arrest of the Gang of Four and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976.

Made available are the complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan in this period. These files are particularly important because Britain was one of the first countries to recognise Communist China.
Subjects Government Publications, History, Pacific and Asian, Primary Source
Publisher Adam Matthew Digital
Subscription Subscription
Alumni Access Yes
Open Access No